Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

All right – it’s going to be a crazy week. School is rushing to an end and I have so much work to finish that I’m not sure when I’m going to make the meal plan. I’m going to have to wing it – a day by day thing.

Monday’s dinner was breakfast burritos which were quite easy. (I say that because my husband came home just at the point they needed to be assembled, which was good because I wasn’t sure quite how to do that.) The burritos had scrambled eggs, black beans, salsa, jack cheese & avocado. The only thing I really had to make was the salsa and I’ve got my own little recipe down now: cherry tomatoes, scallions, lime, salt & pepper, green tabasco.

I had the broiler on thinking they needed to be cooked but that’s not how it’s done. My husband heated the griddle, moistened the tortillas and heated them briefly, layered the ingredients and cooked them just until the cheese melted then took them off the grill and wrapped them. It’s a lot like swaddling a baby – it seems like it should be easy enough but getting it to stay tight takes a bit of practice!

Tags: ,

