Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

Spent the weekend at the yurt! A yurt is more than a tent and less than a house. In this case, it belongs to dear friends and sits on a hill in the woods in upstate New York. There is electricity and water and a composting toilet which makes it like extremely luxurious camping. Practically the only thing we do inside is sleep.

All the cooking is done outside, on the deck on a variety of grills and camping stove. My entire contribution (cookingwise) was an apple blueberry crisp I made at home. It looked divine but the topping was not crisp at all. Not sure if that’s because it was reheated the day after I made it or because the butter was too soft when I made it. I enjoyed a weekend without planning or cooking and parked myself at the sink and took over the dishes to earn my keep.

Tags: ,

