Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

Tonight I did something I’ve always wanted to do: I made homemade croutons from stale bread. Really stale bread. As in, I have a blister from sawing through it.

I’ve had a recipe for croutons in my recipe notebook for a long time and I’m proud to say that I followed it as a guide, not gospel. The great thing is that the bread cooks at the same temperature as the chips we make, 375°. I can remember that and won’t need to refer to the recipe again.

To make the croutons I cut the bread into squares, put them in a bowl and added olive oil & spices: salt, pepper, oregano, marjoram and garlic salt. Then I baked them on parchment, for just over 15 minutes, stirring half way through. Using up stale bread appeals to the obsessive side of me that hates to throw anything away. I’m thinking of saving the leftover croutons in the freezer to use with the leftover onion soup…

Tags: , , ,

