Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

Green Enchiladas & John’s Fried Zucchini. My 85 year old aunt came to dinner and brought a bottle of French wine to go with it. Everyone ate too much and nobody minded.

I tried to show her the blog but she doesn’t really use computers. She was a book designer at Random House for many years and says that cookbooks are the only books that still make money. She does not like that I put my recipes online and she does not like seeing people reading Kindles on the subway. But that doesn’t mean she has given up learning new things. She attends more free movies, concerts, dance performances and art exhibits than anyone else I know. And she finds them all without the benefit of Google. Technology may change how we gather and share information, but it doesn’t make us want to learn: that’s built into our operating systems.

Tags: ,

