Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

I am at least wise enough not to have photographed the peanut butter and jelly I ate for dinner during class.

And yet, I am not wise enough to let a day pass unremarked upon. I have set myself the task of writing every day and am not ready to abandon it. Although I cannot see how the ends will justify the means I am trying to learn to live comfortably with the unknown. It seems an essential part of the creative process. Dedicating a year to a bad idea seems at least a step toward understanding what a good idea might be.

The blog has already forced me to question my assumptions about how I like to cook; it is showing me how to be more creative and free in the kitchen. But the initial impulse for the blog was actually the very disciplined act of making a meal plan. I hope the same will happen with the writing: that habit and discipline will have unanticipated creative consequences.

Tags: , , ,

