Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

It’s good to have good friends. They can come to dinner, you can feed them chili, drink too many beers, make false statements about John Dos Passos, and they still respect you in the morning. (I remembered that he stuck with Stalin and his friends turned against him, but really, he turned on Stalin and went with McCarthy & Goldwater!) There are so many ways to get it wrong in this life when you’re trying to get it right….

Dos Passos is quoted as saying, “What is the use of being a man if you are wrong?” I say, being wrong is not the problem; the unwillingness to be wrong is. Men and women get themselves into trouble not by making mistakes, but by being unwilling to see them and change course.

Now how on god’s earth that’s supposed to lead me back to chili I have no idea…..Really, all I wanted to do was add the instructions for how to make the ancho chili powder that I left out of the chili recipe.

Tags: , ,

