Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

Last night I actually heard the sentence, “You didn’t make enough Brussels sprouts, Mom.” And it was true, I didn’t! The roasted Brussels sprouts and onions were definitely the star of the meal. I also learned how to spell Brussels sprouts finally, (capital B weird extra s at the end).

I tried to improve on the Tomato Soup recipe but it didn’t come off. I roasted the carrots thinking they’d be richer and sweeter and I used a can of fire roasted tomatoes thinking that would add depth too. I put in two bay leaves instead of one & added thyme. The result was a soup that was tangier but not more flavorful. Not what I was going for. Not sure how to get more flavor without making tomato soup into something that tastes like tomato sauce….

Tags: , , ,

