Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

My mother gave me my Juice-o-Mat. It’s one of those rare objects that exceeds expectations in both form and function. I used it tonight to squeeze the lemon for the coleslaw because I was afraid I wouldn’t get the required 4t. of lemon juice from my one lemon. Juice-o-Mat came through.

Dinner was a new recipe: Turkey Sloppy Joes from Real Simple. It was fast, easy and everybody liked it. There was a request to make the Sloppy Joes less sweet so maybe I’ll cut the brown sugar in half next time. I looked up dressing for the Lemon Coleslaw on Epicurious and added poppy seeds to the recipe. I used a Meyer lemon which gave it a nice, soft flavor. I also served leftover baked beans from the freezer as a side dish but that was a mistake; the beans and the sloppy joes tasted too similar. We still seem to be on a summer food kick – apparently global warming also affects taste buds.

Tags: , , , , ,

