Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

Oven BBQ’d chicken. Most excellent. I found the recipe (technique really) online on a website called The Hungry Mouse. It gives very detailed instructions for a very simple technique. I liked seeing the step by step photos before I tried it out & she explains the reasoning behind the technique. I did have to rewrite the recipe so I could print it out and have an easy version to follow in the kitchen. The basic idea is to sear the chicken legs in a pan before baking them in the oven on 375˚ for 50 minutes. You baste both sides in BBQ sauce once before they go into the oven and once 15 minutes into the cooking. I added my own touch and broiled them for two minutes at the end to crisp the skin.

The combination of chicken and the vegetables worked out well because I was able to cook the vegetables (corn, tomatoes, onion) in the same pan I’d used to sear the chicken. I had enough time to make the side dish and clean up all of yesterday’s dishes while the chicken was cooking. This was luck, not good planning – I didn’t know how I was going to make the BBQ chicken in the oven before I looked it up online. The only thing that went wrong(ish) is that it wasn’t quite enough food. We were all snacking on almonds & clementines when the meal was over. I’m sort of still hungry. The leftover french toast from brunch yesterday is looking good…

Tags: , ,

