Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

Tostadas are one of our standby meals. We make the tostadas ourselves because it’s cheap and easy. We just brush both sides of a corn tortilla with olive oil and bake it at 375° for about 10 minutes. The we top them with canned refried beans, chicken or fried egg, jack cheese, scallions, jalapeño, tomato and avocado. I enjoyed making dinner tonight because I didn’t have to think about it (except the part where I poached the chicken breast – I can never remember how long it takes and I always have to look it up.) But it did occur to me that the two meals I’ve enjoyed making most since I started this endeavor were the meatballs & spaghetti and the tostadas. In other words, I was most relaxed when I wasn’t using a recipe. Which sort of goes against everything I think about the way I know how to cook. Does this mean that I really do need to learn technique? It would be weird if the blog ended up changing the very habits that created it….

Tags: , , ,

