Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

I was going to fry the leftover zucchini in the fridge to go with the mac and cheese last night but I don’t know what I was thinking. Fry a zucchini and try a new recipe on the same day? Then it hit me – zucchini bread! Now baking I love. Whoever heard of a baker who needed to be ashamed of using a recipe?

I have been making this zucchini bread with my kids since they were two years old. They drew all over the recipe and when they learned to write, they copied it out themselves. So clearly I can never throw it out. Recently my daughter (now 8) has been baking on her own and the first time she went to butter and flour the pan she dumped tons of flour in. I’m sure I said something unhelpful about wasting things but we banged the extra flour out into the sink and when the bread came out it slipped out of the pan with an ease I’d never accomplished! I had no idea how much flour you were supposed to use when a recipe gave the directions to “butter and flour” the pan. I was always very ginger about it, tapping it carefully through a tea sieve to make a light dusting. I thought if I put too much in the bread would have a coating of uncooked flour on the outside. Thanks to her, now I know better.

Tags: , , ,

