Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

My mother-in-law loves to say that she once heard my husband announce to a group of his friends, “My mother doesn’t cook, she defrosts!” He left out that she was defrosting meals she’d spent the weekend preparing so she could come home from work and serve a homemade dinner every night.

Defrosting is my favorite way to cook! I love food that I can make in large batches and freeze: meatballs and spaghetti, chili, soup and mole are some of our staples. The great thing about having the main course from the freezer is that if I want to, I can spend some extra time on a side dish.

Tonight I didn’t fuss. Bachelor’s Stew is a simple Moroccan lamb stew with onions that I got from Cooking at the Kasbah by Kitty Morse. All I did was roast a head of cauliflower and make some buttered noodles to go with it.

Tags: , , , , ,

