Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

I made Thursday’s dinner tonight: Spaghetti with Toasted Breadcrumbs and Oregano. I realized the herbs and the beans didn’t need to sit around in the fridge for an extra day. It was a dish from Mario Batali’s new book, Molto Batali: Simple Family Meals. It wasn’t so simple. He must have a cleaning crew. It called for two 14″ pans, plus the pasta pot, plus a heated serving bowl. Needless to say I didn’t heat the bowl. I also tried to get by with only one big pan which sort of worked. I’m not someone who should be trying out restaurant technique at home. Everyone seemed to love it. I’m not sure. I think I liked it but it seemed harder than a simple meal should. Maybe because it was a new recipe? All new endeavors take some effort, no?

Tags: , ,

