Skip to content

The Unnatural Cook

a chronicle of weekly meal plans from someone who can't just throw a meal together

Kids first day of school after break. Thought soup would help us recover from the holiday gluttony. I was kind of proud of this meal because I used leftovers from the fridge. Plus, there’s mushrooms in the salad. I always mean to check the fridge before I make my meal plan but in the five years I’ve been making weekly meal plans, I rarely manage it. Maybe this year’s the year. This meal I managed to use up a stray pepper, a lone carrot and six pieces of leftover garlic bread from last night’s meal.

The tomato soup is a recipe from O magazine that I’ve always been meaning to try. It was easy & great. Put the garlic bread under the broiler with some mozzarella cheese and since there wasn’t enough for everybody I got myself some pecan walnut bread instead.

Tags: , ,

